Cast Iron Skillet Salmon or Bust

I discovered the wonders of a cast iron skillet last night. Matt bought me one for Christmas and I have to admit, I have been incredibly intimidated by the archaic looking cooking device. I had no idea what to make in it. Last night, though, after 2 months of disuse, I had enough of my wastefulness and decided to figure it out. I knew I wanted to make salmon so I just typed “Cast iron skillet salmon” in Google… thank God for Google. I couldn’t cook without it, really. I watched a YouTube video of someone cooking in one, read a bunch of recipes and then decided just to do what I always do – wing it.
My skillet is preseasoned so I just had to get to work. I started by simmering some EVOO on the stove top. I added sliced garlic (3-4 cloves) for a few minutes. While that was sautéing I put freshly cracked pepper and sea salt in a small bowl with lemon pepper and paprika. I didn’t measure, but if I had to guess it was probably 1/2 tsp of each. Then I cut my salmon into about 3 oz portions. Again, I didn’t measure. I sprinkled my seasoning mixture on each side of the salmon and then added it (presentation side down) to the skillet. I set the timer and left it alone for 6 minutes.
cast iron skillet 1

I then squeezed 1/2 a lemon on top, flipped the salmon and put it in my preheated oven (400 degrees) for 6 more minutes. I served it over brown rice and steamed broccoli.

cast iron skillet 2
Oh my gosh, guys, I am not even kidding… this was by far the BEST salmon I have ever made. I was shocked by it because it was so simple. I mean – 15 minutes for the entire meal? It kind of blew me away.
So now, here I am, a cast iron skillet convert. I’ve already been online this morning planning what I am making tonight. I am pretty sure the verdict is charred tomato and chicken tacos. Hopefully that turns out just as well. I have a feeling that the skillet can’t go wrong!
I hope you try this awesome, healthy, and delicious salmon recipe for yourselves!

3 thoughts on “Cast Iron Skillet Salmon or Bust

  1. We love our cast iron skillet! It’s heavy but asparagus with some oil, pepper and garlic is my new favorite. It’s also easy to clean – watch using soap…we keep that limited and will put oil in it on a simmer just to keep it seasoned if it starts to look odd.

  2. What’s the difference between a cast iron skillet and a regular skillet? I’d like to see a picture of this skillet.

Leave a Reply

