Whole Wheat Zucchini and Carrot Muffins

Not many people enjoy baking and chocolate and sugar more than me. If I could make anything for someone else that’s having a tough time, knowing for certain that it would lift their spirits and make them feel loved it would be chocolate chip cookies – It’s never failed.
However when it comes to everyday life, as a parent I have a job to do concerning food. That job is to make sure that my children are being introduced to new and healthy foods constantly. I don’t want them to have the same addictions that I have battled in my life. Ultimately I have no control over what addictions they do or do not have, I understand this, but I also understand that the messages that they receive about food are important. 3 years ago I barely ate vegetables unless they were covered in ranch dressing. That’s just not okay – for me, for them… or for the earth, really. Now we enjoy vegetables in a myriad of ways. These muffins are one example.

carrot zucchini

Okay, I know… enough with the rant – here is the recipe:

6 cups whole wheat flour
3 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 cup honey
2 cups shredded zucchini (skin and all)
2 cups finely shredded carrots
1 cup applesauce
4 eggs

carrot zucchini 2

Mix everything together (I like to add the flour a little at a time) and put a little less than 1/3 cup of batter into each WELL-GREASED muffin tin
Bake at 400 for 20 minutes

This makes about 36 muffins. I make so many at once because I like to freeze some of them and then let them thaw out over night for breakfast or snacks. My kids even eat these, fruit and some cheese for a balanced and easy lunch.
I hope that you enjoy them as well!

carrot zucchini 3

One thought on “Whole Wheat Zucchini and Carrot Muffins

  1. Pingback: Its been three weeks - Mymsn5 Today

Leave a Reply

