Quick! Put this in your slow cooker!

I have a confession to make: I’m a terrible person in the morning. I hate morning. I hate getting out of bed. I hate the million mile hike from my bedroom to the kitchen. Pouring the coffee seems like an insurmountable task… but each morning I must do it… lives are at stake. So, given that climate, you can probably guess that I don’t make breakfast for my kids. (Or me. Or anyone.) I can’t think of much worse than getting up and doing stuff… anything.

I lay out my kids and my clothes the night before. I make coffee and put it on a timer the night before. I clean at night. In the morning, my kids live on PB toast (that I made the night before), apples, and bananas – the least high maintenance fruit I could possible serve to toddlers. I don’t cut their apples up, skin them, anything – just take the things and eat it. And for goodness sake, DO NOT BE LOUD OR COMPLAIN OR YELL OR DISAGREE OR MAKE FUNNY FACES OR GIVE ME THAT LOOK OR ASK ME QUESTIONS OR SAY UNKIND THINGS UNTIL MOMMY HAS HAD HER COFFEE.

So, now that you see what a monster I am in the morning you can imagine how appealing the idea is to me of a nutritious, home-made breakfast that just requires me to wake up in order to be ready. Enter crockpot steel cut oats. There are a million ways to make this, but I had all of the ingredients for  this one without having to run to the store, so in it went! I pretty much stuck to the recipe the first time. We have out-of-state guests so I doubled it, I also added some chia seeds just for additional health benefits. And also, when I was reaching for my cinnamon I saw the nutmeg looking all hopeful right next to it, so I added some… to spare its feelings.

This breakfast was delicious! I hope that you try it soon!

Slow Cooker, Apple Cinnamon Steel-Cut Oatmeal

By Monica             Servings: 7 (3/4-cup) servings
Ingredients
  • 2 apples, peeled, cored, cut into 1/2-inch pieces (2-1/2 to 3 cups chopped)
  • 1-1/2 cups fat-free milk (or substitute non-diary alternative like almond milk)
  • 1-1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup uncooked steel-cut oats
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar (or substitute maple syrup or other desired sweetener)
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons butter, cut into 5-6 pieces (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seed
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Optional garnishes: chopped nuts, raisins, maple syrup, additional milk or butter
Directions
Coat inside of 3-1/2 quart (or larger) slow cooker with cooking spray. Add all ingredients (except optional toppings) to slow cooker. Stir, cover, and cook on low for approx. 7 hours (slow cooker times can vary). Spoon oatmeal into bowls; add optional toppings, if desired. Store leftovers in refrigerator. Freezes well.
To reheat single servings: Put 1-cup cooked oatmeal in microwave proof bowl. Add 1/3 cup fat-free milk. Microwave on high for 1 minute; stir. Continue cooking for another minute, or until hot.
Recipe can be doubled in 6-quart or larger slow cooker. Increase cooking time 1 hour.
Nutritional Info (per 3/4 cup serving): 149 calories, 3.6g fat, 27.3g carbs, 3.9g fiber, 4.9g protein; Weight Watchers PointsPlus: 4 pts
One thought on “Quick! Put this in your slow cooker!

Leave a Reply

