Incredible Edible Quiche

One of the staples around the Murray household is quiche. Is easy, it’s cheap, you can add in small pieces of veggies for picky eaters, and you can customized it to your taste. Tonight Charlotte and I made a cheddar cheese, kale and (by her request) pepperoni quiche. I was a bit nervous about adding meat – I know that a lot of people do it, but it’s not the usual for us. But it was very good. You could barely taste the pepperoni (probably because I only added 2 for the entire thing.)

My favorite quiche of all time, though, I found about 2 years ago while looking through recipes on the Internet. I make it all the time. At first I was very careful to follow the original recipe exactly but now I take the license to play around with it a bit. Here is my take:

Ingredients:

4 eggs, beaten.

1/4 cup milk

clove of fresh garlic

3 stalks of asparagus, finely diced

A small handful of either swiss chard, kale or spinach, roughly chopped

1/4 cup of pack in oil sun-dried tomatoes, minced

1 tsp. EVOO

7 oz ricotta cheese

1/2 cup cheddar cheese

fresh ground pepper

a pinch or two of sea salt

 

Saute the greens, asparagus and garlic in EVOO. Add to the remainder ingredients. Pour into a pre-made deep dish pie crust.* Bake at 375 for about 40 minutes.

ENJOY!

 

*Feel free to make your own pie crust. I have not, as yet, found the inspiration to do so for my family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

