Cook up some fun!

Jack and Selah LOVE to help me in the kitchen and they have a hard time waiting until dinner time to do so. I don’t generally have to cook for lunch so I hear “Is it time to make dinner?!” about 80 kajillion times a day. Today, I decided that we could cook up some fun – in the form of our own Playdough. This is something I have planned to do for quite a while as my 1.5 yr old, Charlotte, puts everything in her mouth. I don’t know whats in the stuff from the store so it just makes more sense to make it at home for us.

It’s very simple and fun for the kids to make and then play with for hours after. With this recipe, as with all recipes, I recommend that you pre-measure your ingredients if you are cooking with preschoolers to cut down on the time where they are not actively engaged.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 1 tablespoon cream of tartar
  • Food coloring
  • Saucepan
  • 1 cup flour

Directions

  1. Combine water, oil, salt, cream of tartar, and food coloring in a saucepan and heat until warm.
  2. Remove from heat and add flour.
  3. Stir, then knead until smooth. The cream of tartar makes this dough last 6 months or longer, so resist the temptation to omit this ingredient if you don’t have it on hand.
  4. Store this dough in an airtight container or a Ziploc freezer bag.

p.s. This dough was a bit crumbly. I think next time I will try adding a bit extra water.

Leave a Reply

